Using strida on snow/ice

Hi,
I saw in Strida manual it says it should not be used on ice. However, I saw a blog where strida was actually used on ice and snow.
Also I read a review for a guy from Finland who claimed using strida for one year without having any problem.
Do you have experience with using strida in freezing weather ?
I went yesterday for 30 min ride on snow and it was fun to ride Strida when it was -14 c :grin:

1 Like

Hi,
if you mean our Finnish friend Markku; I believe during winter he paused riding regularly, maybe he wants to tell more by himself (?).

All I know about Strida and freezing weather is this:
The belt will get longer (not shorter!) and may possibly start slipping (but that happens very rarely).

Great to read that :+1:
As long as you feel good, go on :cold_face:

1 Like

Hi,

I am fairly new to Stridas but not so new to riding bicycles.
It must have been some 45 Years ago that i rode my dutch bike across a frozen lake free handed.
I rode my Strida SX in Snow on Saturday and today. As shown in
Upgrade Your Strida: adjustable kick stand (Pic. 6) i even own winter tyres with spikes. This weekend, however, i rode the Strida on ordinary 40-355 18" tyres.
But to bring it down to Strida in general, i think that the QR seat molding kit is most essential.
When there is snow or ice, i get off of my Strida and bring the saddle down by two or three clicks. That way, my feet have a way better contact to the ground, should i slide on snow or ice.
I only ordered the 18" winter tyres (42-355) after i had tested 44-355 tyres so i thought the winter tyres should fit into the unmodified frame/wheels of the Strida like the 44-355 do (ever so close, but they do fit on Your lucky day). It turned out to be wrong.