Truing a rear wheel

Howdy folks,

I’m an experienced wheel builder who needs to true his rear STRIDA 5 wheel. Long story short, some time ago the teeth of the STRIDA belt snapped off and the belt was jammed into the drivetrain. In the end it a disk was warped and rear wheel got out of true. I’ve ordered a new rear disk and plan on truing the rear wheel.

Have folks used a truing stand to work on the wheel? I’m not sure whether the Park stand’s centering tool would reach and if there is enough of axle lip to hold the wheel in place.

Eyeballing it, the rim looks to be in the center of the two flanges and the spokes are equal length. True?

This is a Strida 5 from roughly 7 years ago. I don’t see any markings on the rim. Any idea on max tension specs? The spokes look to be straight gauge … 15? Or is it 14? Even with my caliper, it’s hard to tell the difference between 1.8 and 2.0 mm.

For general context, the wobble is minor and tension generally feels good on the wheel. So I assume it will be a minor adjustment. I figure that while replace the rear disk, I would true the wheel since access would be easier.

Thanks for reading.

EDIT: I just remembered the spoke measuring tool in the tensionmeter box. I’m not near it now, but if no one knows off the top of their head, I’ll measure later and report.

1 Like

Howdy Geoff,

welcome at Stridaforum :smiley:

I’ve got good results with a simple trueing “rig”, made of two pieces square tube and two rods plus an axle (and copper spacers with a few nuts).
In this case, the rig was bolted to a massive steel plate, but it could be also clamped onto the work plate. Easy to make, very stable, minimal storage room required.

I should have have all the data you need, I looked already for it (elctronically) but there’s a little problem; all the data sits within some “spc” files, suitable for the ancient wheel calculating software of “machinehead” UK…and that on some old PC…